Can your Facebook account be deleted? the answer is stated here in this article. Let’s begin…. There are many scandals relating to privacy, misinformation (fake news), theft of identity and all manner of other shady things, have led to Facebook losing the trust of many of its users.
If you are scared of all these shady things or if you are just tired of spending so much time on Facebook or have gotten bored of the constant uploads from old friends you do not want to have contacts with anymore and you are asking.
Read Also: Facebook Vs Instagram – Which is Better?
Can Facebook account be deleted?
Here is the answer!!!
Yes finally you can delete your Facebook account but how?
In spite of the fact that deleting your Facebook account sounds simple enough, it’s quite deceptively hard. Social media platforms make money off you when you keep scrolling and sharing, so the one thing they will not want is for you to stop.
Not to worry, this article contains an easy, step-by-step guide on how to delete your Facebook profile so you can get out from under them permanently or just enough time to pause and relax from the network for a while before you dive back in.
Now, you will have to make a choice of the two different ways you would like to take your Facebook account offline.
Pointers to note
If you choose to delete your Facebook account, here are a few pointers to note:
- After the request to delete your account is made, Facebook delays deletion for a few days. If you log in during this period, the deletion request is canceled.
- Access to your Facebook cannot be regained once your Facebook account is deleted.
- It takes about 90 days for your data stored in backup systems to be deleted.
You can opt to deactivate your Facebook account instead. Basically, deactivating your account is a way to take a break from Facebook for a while. Choosing to deactivate your Facebook account means:
- Your friends or anyone won’t be able to see your Facebook profile, or search for you.
- Some information like sent messages may remain visible to your friends.
- Your account info will be saved by Facebook in case you reactivate your account
How to delete a Facebook account permanently
Even when we don’t want to admit it, deleting your Facebook account is a serious decision to make and can affect how you stay in touch with distant relatives and friends.
It’s as simple as ABC, just by following this link and selecting ‘Delete Account’ you can permanently wipe yourself off Facebook— BUT WAIT!
Before deleting your account permanently, you may be interested in downloading your Facebook data; this includes all photos and posts you have uploaded in the past. These are the easy steps to follow to enable you to download your data:
- When logged into your account, follow this link to reach the Facebook help page on how to delete your account
- Select the account menu arrow down button at the top right of any Facebook page in your web browser
- The next step is to click “Download a copy of your Facebook data” which is located at the bottom of your General Account Settings
- Select “Start my Archive”
If you are set on deleting your Facebook account completely, choose the ‘Delete Account’ option.
Deactivating your Facebook account
Ooh, so you have decided on the less-scary option. To go off Facebook for a while, then all you need to do is log onto your account on desktop and follow these steps:
- Select the account menu arrow down button at the top right corner of your Facebook page in your web browser
- Click on ‘Settings’
- Select ‘General’ in the left column
- Opt for ‘Manage your account’
- Then select ‘Deactivate your account,’ and confirm your decision
Reactivating your account
To reactivate your account after deactivating it, basically all you have to do is log into your Facebook account again using your email address or phone number, and password. Boom! Your profile will come back to life.
Conclusively, there are other social networking platforms out there; most make it easy to delete your account for good. If you are wondering how you can delete yours account on other social sites, move to their FAQs page or search on Google for a simple guide.